New release! The Dark Rift by Gilliam Ness

February 19th, 2016 by Evo

For those who like a little mystery in their thrilling scifi, check out Gilliam Ness’ The Lost Artifact series. This is Book 1 – The Dark Rift:

When they come into possession of a mysterious prehistoric cube, relic hunter Gabriel Parker, and the alluring artifact historian Natasha Rossi, find themselves inexplicably bound to a dark mythology dating back to the roots of civilization. Throughout history the long lost Cube has been sought after by emperors, popes, and caliphs alike. It is believed to be a container of knowledge; a holy vessel capable of emancipating humanity from the confines of earthly mortality. Now that it has been found, demonic forces are surfacing to destroy it. Their presence marks the return of a potent nefarious entity that once reigned supreme in Earth’s distant reptilian past.

Under the apocalyptic shadow of global unrest and rampant natural disasters, Gabriel and Natasha battle to prevent this sinister blight from being unleashed. With nothing but a tattered journal to guide them, they race from Italy to Morocco, and finally to the mountains of Northern Spain where they must locate a Lost Labyrinth spoken of by the ancients. There, deep in a Sacred Chamber, they will find salvation for mankind, but not without a price. A cosmic clock is ticking. It marks the world’s entry into the oblivion of the Dark Rift, and the final days that remain.


New release! ​After the Plague​ by Mike Bennett

February 16th, 2016 by Evo

Master of audiobook horror Mike Bennet is back, with a short new title (just six episodes) called After the Plague:

A hotel on the outskirts of London in the aftermath of a zombie apocalypse. A brutal couple, Lee and Mandy, arrive in a van with two captive women held as sex slaves. Lee and Mandy think the hotel is abandoned, a place to find food and shelter. However, Terry, a former employee who has made the hotel his own, has other ideas.

After the Plague is a novella by four-time Parsec Award winning author, Mike Bennett. It contains scenes of explicit violence and very strong language.


New release! The Purging Of Ruen by Thomas Corfield

January 25th, 2016 by Evo

Our latest book, The Purging Of Ruen, requires the creation of a new category: New Fable. As Thomas says, the genre covers books with “animals acting like people (albeit bizarrely) in a recognizably conventional world”. Give it a shot and let us know what you think!

When assigned to determine the cause of brewing tensions in the exclusive seaside city of Ruen, Oscar Teabag-Dooven discovers it’s on the brink of tearing itself apart. Things become complicated when it appears those responsible are in charge of running the place. Drawn into a scandalous plot of insanity and greed, Oscar befriends the Dervy, a young revolutionary, by throwing her off a cliff, and Horace, an elderly doctor with a phobia of worming ointments. Together they battle the ruthless genius of Sedervitz Tappen-Noo and the grievous insanity of the Pyjami, in an attempt to save a beautiful city from certain destruction. But things don’t go according to plan. Principally because they don’t have one.

 


New release! The Defendant by G.K. Chesterson

January 18th, 2016 by Evo

Keeping us stocked up on some classic public domain works, David “Grizzly” Smith returns with his narration of G.K. Chesterson’s The Defendant:

A collection of essays by Gilbert Keith Chesterton, “Defences” of things at best less appreciated than they ought to be.

“… It becomes increasingly apparent, therefore, that the world is in a permanent danger of being misjudged. That this is no fanciful or mystical idea may be tested by simple examples. The two absolutely basic words ‘good’ and ‘bad,’ descriptive of two primal and inexplicable sensations, are not, and never have been, used properly. Things that are bad are not called good by any people who experience them; but things that are good are called bad by the universal verdict of humanity.

“… I have found that every man is disposed to call the green leaf of the tree a little less green than it is, and the snow of Christmas a little less white than it is; therefore I have imagined that the main business of a man, however humble, is defence. I have conceived that a defendant is chiefly required when worldlings despise the world–that a counsel for the defence would not have been out of place in that terrible day when the sun was darkened over Calvary and Man was rejected of men.” G. K. C.


New release! Moonskin by Anthony J. Zingales

January 16th, 2016 by Evo

If dystopian scifi is your thing, then check our our latest title, Moonskin by Anthony J. Zingales:

“Space is the cure to careless savagery, to stagnant two-party politics, to the fear that condemns visionary science to the dusty shelves of oblivion.”

Franklin Kline stands poised to unite humanity as he extends our astral empire to Saturn. But a coup d’état 300 years in the making ignites the turf, and a firestorm of unrest sweeps through the solar system. Astronauts marooned en route to Titan watch helplessly as a tyrannical tycoon seizes the throne of humanity. Wounded and shaken, Kline’s survival depends on Eta Porter, but she conceals ambitions of her own.

Few turfside dreamers dare to challenge this regime. But spacefaring humans—humans not of Earth—resist.

Moonskin is the story of a forsaken planet, one man who will stop at nothing to escape it, and two moonborn rogues who can never go home again. For additional information, visit spaceisthecure.com. Moonskin is also available on Kindle and Kindle Unlimited.


New release! Alive by Scott Sigler

January 13th, 2016 by Evo

Check out the latest book from Scott Sigler; Alive!

For fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising comes a gripping sci-fi adventure in which a group of teenagers wake up in a mysterious corridor with no knowledge of who they are or how they got trapped. Their only hope lies with an indomitable young woman who must lead them not only to answers but to survival.

A teenage girl awakens to find herself trapped in a coffin. She has no idea who she is, where she is, or how she got there. Fighting her way free brings little relief – she discovers only a room lined with caskets and a handful of equally mystified survivors. Beyond their room lies a corridor filled with bones and dust but no people and no answers.

She knows only one thing about herself – her name, M. Savage, which was engraved on the foot of her coffin. She finds herself in charge. She is not the biggest among them or the boldest, but for some reason the others trust her. Now, if they’re to have any chance, she must get them to trust one another.

Whatever the truth is, she is determined to find it and confront it. If she has to lead, she will make sure they survive. Maybe there’s a way out, a rational explanation, and a fighting chance against the dangers to come. Or maybe a reality they cannot comprehend lies just beyond the next turn.


Dead Hunt, the Movie!

January 10th, 2016 by Lucie Le Blanc

Dead Hunt, by Canadian author and podcaster Kenn Crawford, is in the pre-production stage of becoming a feature-length movie!

dead-hunt

You can follow all the steps from pre-production to production right here: Dead Hunt, The Movie


Free Audiobook Distribution As A Path To Payment

January 3rd, 2016 by Evo

When we started Podiobooks.com back in 2005, most people had never read an ebook, and inexpensive audiobooks were only available on tape. The world of indie publishing has changed drastically (for the better!) in the last 10 years, and it’s worth restating Podiobooks.com original intent:

Free serialized audiobooks distributed in podcast form (that’s the definition of a podiobook) are best used as one aspect of an author’s marketing approach.

We never intended to be a publisher. We always intended to be a distribution service. Today, we’re making that distinction a little more clear by announcing integration with Scribl’s CrowdPricing Everywhere service.

Welcome to the future of audiobook and ebook distribution

scribl logo_fbAuthors who choose Scribl as their publisher and distributor of of their for-sale audiobooks will automatically see their titles listed on Podiobooks.com, Audible, and dozens of other audiobook marketplaces. Authors prepare and load a single set of audio files to Scribl, and they’ll take care of distributing the audiobook… everywhere. Including with us!

As we’ve always done, the Scribl-distributed audiobooks listed on Podiobooks.com will remain free. Scribl’s intelligent distribution system will automatically “serialize” the files we need, with the standard intros and outros listeners have come to expect from episodic content typical to podcasts. And yes, we’ll continue to pass 75% of any donations we receive on the books we distribute on Podiobooks.com.

But perhaps best of all, Scribl’s system is working hard to get you paid on the other marketplaces, managing and monitoring the price, sales, and reviews of the for-sale versions of your audiobooks (and ebooks) on myriad other marketplaces. So while Podiobooks.com lets people discover your work, Scribl provides a path to payment directly on the audiobook marketplaces, making it easy for would-be listeners who’d rather pay for the convenience of a one-click download to do so easily, right to their preferred device or mobile app.

And if that’s not fantastic enough, Scribl’s accounting magic has figured out a way to get you paid at or better royalty rates than going “direct” with any marketplace. You’ll never receive less than 70% on ebook sales, and you’ll make 90% on audiobook sales. What’s not to love?

Ready to go? Head to Scribl.com and get started!

But there is no one right way

Even though we’re stoked about this integration with Scribl, it’s not required. If you’re not looking for help distributing or getting paid for your work, you can still follow the steps outlined in the Submission Guidelines to submit your serialized audiobook to us. We’ll happily add the book to our library of nearly 1000 titles, so long as you can hit the technical marks.

However, we strongly encourage you to look at what Scribl has to offer. The world changed on us in the last 10 years. Scribl’s helping to change it again.


New release! Black Jack by Dan Shaurette

December 8th, 2015 by Evo

If you’re into things that might have gone bump in the historical night, check out Dan’s newest: Black Jack!

BLACK JACK, is a new short story by Dan Shaurette, a prequel to his upcoming novel, BLACK CASTLE.

Confidence artist Jacob Springer discovers that his mother, a Faierie, has been murdered in London. Can he track down her killer while the police have their hands full with Jack the Ripper’s reign of terror?

Featuring the voice talents of Dani Cutler, Emerian Rich, Glenn Hibburt, Jack Mangan, Lucie LeBlanc, Mat Weller, Murdo Morrison, Pete Lutz, Sean Young, Ted Wenskus, and Veronica Giguere. This audio drama was originally serialized on the HorrorAddicts.net podcast.

The theme music for BLACK JACK is “Sorrows Path” by Tim Beek, provided under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. All other music and sound effects were provided by the Free Sound Project, at FreeSound.org.


New release! Certified – The True Story of David Harris

December 7th, 2015 by Evo

Adding to our non-fiction title selection is Certified:

Certified is the pacey, true life account of David Harris; how he went from typical Aussie kid to mentally deranged criminal, then experiences a most surprising transformation.